Aangle of Reflection

I was a latecomer to the “Avatar: The Last Airbender” franchise and the Aang craze. In fact, it originally premiered when I was working as a full-time (plus some) manager at a famous coffee chain. I didn’t have much time for cartoons, despite my already-solidified status as a total geek girl.

So, of course, this year, my working-from-home husband and my dealing-with-two-wild-housebound-little-boys-all-day self decided we would binge the series when it popped up in the Netflix feed.

And, of course, we were utterly blown away. But I don’t want to talk about the great characterization or the amazing voice work. Neither am I going to talk about the incredible lessons of redemption, truth, and honor on the show. Instead, I’m gonna chat about chakras.

Yeah, chakras.

When I was less mature in my faith, I used to believe even taking the time to learn about other ways of thinking, cultures, or faiths was a dangerous and terrible thing. I was greatly afraid of “tainting” my beliefs by studying – even acknowledging – differences in opinion, lifestyle, or religion.

I’m happy to say God has freed me from that close-minded, paranoid, and exhausting way of thinking.

That isn’t to say I embrace as truth every single thing I encounter. Now, I am able to approach things in a more patient, observant, contemplative way, and see how different beliefs, customs, and practices may (or may not) reflect the practices of my Savior.

So. Chakras.

If you didn’t know, the basic theory in many Eastern religions and belief systems is there are seven chakras, or centers of energy, within the body. These chakras being “open” or “unblocked” allow a person to embrace and exude positive energy and harmony.

I’m not here to tell you if chakras really exist, or if you should study them. I’m just here to say “The Guru” episode of ATLA challenged me to re-examine my prayer life.

Here’s how.

Avatar: The Last Airbender is now streaming on Netflix.

Each chakra is said to represent one aspect of our humanity, and it is symbolized by a part of the body. In the episode mentioned above, our hero Aang is trained to focus on each chakra, letting go of what might hinder the free flow of energy, in order to enter the Avatar state at will – that is to say, to have full control over himself.

I thought it would be interesting to apply this very basic principle to a prayer for my OWN mind and body, using scripture as a base. So here is the outline I came up with. Maybe it will help you center and remind yourself of the promises God made you, and what he has spoken over you in his Word!

In fact, the chakras are represented by colors that amount to a rainbow, the symbol of God’s reminder to himself of his promise to humanity.

The root chakra (red) represents our foundation.

In addition, it is said to be the first chakra that develops in humans. As a Christian, the very first thing we need to accept is God is the firm foundation on which we stand! For the believer, trust in God’s Word being undeniably true and real is the absolute base of our faith.

Proverbs 1:7 states “Fear [reverence] of the Lord is the foundation of true knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and discipline.”

Oh, Father God, allow my soul to be built on the unshakable foundation of YOU.

The sacral chakra (orange) represents how we relate to our emotions and the emotions of others, among other things (yes, sexuality, too).

Christians are called to represent the Holy Spirit by moving with love, compassion, and kindness, even when we don’t “feel” like it. A verse that can apply to both sexuality as well as evaluating our own emotions is Proverbs 25:28, which warns “A person without self-control is like a city with broken-down walls.”

Lord, allow me in all things to act with deference to others and to move with care and self-control.

The solar plexus chakra (yellow) represents self-confidence and self-esteem.

When we crown Jesus as the Lord of our lives, we are given a new identity in Him, and it is one that allows us to have joyful confidence without becoming prideful.

Ephesians 2:10 reminds us “…we are God’s masterpiece. He created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.” To be considered the masterpiece of the world’s own Creator is both humbling and empowering!

Lord God, help me wrap my head around the idea that people are your finest and most beloved creation – and help me treat myself and others accordingly!

The heart chakra (green) represents love and inner peace.

These two gifts have been given freely to us by our Savior, and He expects us to accept them and move in them daily. Colossians 3:14 reminds us to “clothe [y]ourselves with love, which binds us all together in perfect harmony.”

Father, let love rule in my heart, and may I move with compassion, always having patience and empathy for others and myself.

The throat chakra (light blue) represents truth and expression.

In fact, for the believer, these two things should never be separated! When we speak, we must express ourselves with truth and grace. It is in Proverbs 31:26 that we find a good example of a wise person, in this case, a wife and mother: “When she speaks, her words are wise, and she gives instruction with kindness.”

Heavenly Father, may all the words I speak be reflections of Jesus: kind, true, trustworthy, and bringing your light into the darkness.

The brow chakra (deep blue) represents wisdom.

Repeatedly, the Word of God reminds us wisdom is to be sought and treasured beyond wealth. Revelation 2:79 admonishes “Anyone who has ears to hear must listen and understand what the Spirit what he is saying to the churches.”

Dear God, help me to comprehend your great wisdom, which is so far above the wisdom of man. Give me understanding and encouragement.

Finally, the crown chakra (purple) represents a connection to the divine.

For Christians, we have already been connected directly to God through the sacrifice of Jesus Christ. However, that connection does not automatically mean we are listening to the Spirit or we are seeking God’s will. Colossians 3:2 reminds us to “think about the things of Heaven, not of earth.”

Lord, it is so easy to get swept up in personal needs and to get distracted by the things of this world. Please continually remind me of my citizenship in Heaven and help me represent Jesus to the world around me.

There you have it. It’s possible to use the concept of the chakras as a framework for a prayer, a reset for your own spirit to line up with what God’s Word says about you as a believer, and about the expectations and promises he has for you. Regardless of your thoughts on spiritual energies or feelings about Eastern belief systems, you can use this blueprint to refocus your efforts on asking God to help you be a better, stronger, and more powerful you – in Jesus.

For more on Christian Living click here.

Rebecca Godlove

Writer, director, actor, minister, wife, and mom. Owned by two cats.

Leave a Comment